Answer these two questions, and we will help you find care that is right for you.

Please make sure you update age and diagnosis.

View Article

Ray Kotwicki, MD, MPH

Ray Kotwicki, MD, MPH

Charles B. West Chief Medical Officer

As chief medical officer, Ray Kotwicki oversees the organization’s clinical services, ensuring that the best, evidence-based treatments are being provided to patients. He joined Skyland Trail in 2007 and assumed full-time chief medical officer responsibilities in 2014.

Kotwicki recently served as an associate professor at Emory University’s School of Medicine - Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, and as an associate professor at Emory University’s Rollins School of Public Health. He co-directed the four-year, longitudinal course “Becoming A Doctor” and led medical student education for the Department for seven years. Kotwicki remains on adjunctive faculty at the Emory University School of Medicine, as well as at the University of Miami - Miller School of Medicine.

Kotwicki trained as a Department of Energy Fellow, and was a Medical Scholar at the University of Wisconsin Medical School. He had post-graduate training at Harvard Medical School, the Boston University School of Medicine, and Emory University, where he earned a Master in Public Health degree in Health Policy and Management.

Kotwicki is a Diplomate of the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, and has been elected an officer of the Georgia Psychiatric Physicians’ Association. From 2003 to 2006, he served as president of the board of directors for Positive Impact, Inc., the Southeast’s premiere prevention and mental health program for people infected or affected by HIV/AIDS.

Throughout his career, Kotwicki has received numerous distinctions, including Emory University’s Dean’s “Golden Apple” Teaching Award, Leadership Atlanta Class of 2011, Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society, Mental Health America and Eli Lilly’s “Heroes in Fight” Clinical Team Award, and the National Alliance on Mental Illness’ Exemplary Psychiatrist Award.

< Back to Staff List